First off, let me state that I go by the Rede and the Law of Three.  But lately, I’ve been wondering….Does Karma need a little help sometimes?  I’m not talking about something as sophmorish as making someone fall in love with you, but rather, injustices done to you.  Allow me to explain:  I was married to a verbally, mentally and emotionally abusive man.  And while, in the end, things turned out for the best (he drank himself to death), I often wonder if I could have stopped some of the damage (not as in wishing he was dead or worse), if I had helped Karma along.  Granted, there were things I could have done on a mundane level (like divorce him), but due to circumstances, I would have lost custody of my son to this abusive man in the process, and I wasn’t about to let that happen.  Luckily, my son barely remembers his father, however, his past abuse has damaged me: my confidence, my self-esteem, and the like, to the point where I hid from the world and am just now starting to come out from my hole.  And due to the damage that has been done, I find that coming out from the hole is a rather painful experience…not liberating or exciting as one might expect.  Should I have done something?  I can’t tell you how many times I lied in bed and prayed, “Please let me die in my sleep tonight,” during those years.  And there are still residual effects from that.

So, with all that in mind, I wonder now….does Karma need help sometimes?

