With the advent of a new school year, I am prompted to post this spell by one of my favorite authors:

SPELL OF THE DAY:  CHILD PROTECTION

GOAL:  To protect your child when you send him/her out into the world.

OPTIONAL EXTRAS:  A picture of the child if they are not present, a white or black candle.

NOTES:  The best time for this spell is on the full moon, when the light of the moon is bright, although it can be done any time it is truly needed.  This is a simple prayer said from the heart and needs very little embellishment.  Envision the Goddess in her form as Mother and see her protective energy surrounding the child.  As necessary, substitute him for her or adjust the wording for multiple children.

“Great Goddess
You who are Mother to us all
Watch over my child today and always
Keep her safe from harm and danger
Guide her feet as she walks her path
And be a light to guide her way
Watch over my child when I cannot
Protect her with Your fearsome might
And shine a mother’s love upon her
Great Goddess
You who are Mother to us all
Watch over my child today and always.”

– Deborah Blake

