Preliminary Ritual Proceedings:

– standard altar setup
– include Sabbat/spellworking supplies

Draw the Circle with the Athame or wand:
“This Circle I consecrate and mark
To the Old Gods of light and dark.
Here may They manifest
And bless me with Their royal-ness.”

Move back to the altar.  Raise the Athame or wand:
“Time is not time, place is not a place, day is not a day.
In the Mysteries do I now stay.
May I be guided on my journey here
By all that I ask to appear.”

Place the water on the pentacle.  Sprinkle salt into it.
“Mother, bless this Water and this Earth,
As I remember the cauldron of rebirth.”

Sprinkle the salt water around the Circle.

Light the charcoal and place in the censer.  Add incense.
Touch to the pentacle and raise high.
“Father, bless this Fire and this Air,
As I remember Your loving care.”

Swing incense around the Circle.  Return to the altar.

Mother and Father, my honor I give,
As I breathe and as I live.
Now is the time for the Esbat (Sabbat),
As is my customary habit.”

Go to the East.  Ring the bell 3 times and light the candle:
**“Come to me now, O winds of the East,*
Whirl and twirl ‘til the magick has ceased.
Blow through our hearts, and the energy raise
Blow away clouds and blow away haze
The Circle is open – Your power please lend
Your presence is welcomed – I bid you, come in!”**

Move to the South.  Ring the bell 3 times and light the candle:
**”Come to me now, O Southerly fires!*
Warm light, pure strength – add flame to desires.
Cleanse and purify all thoughts mundane.
Protect well this Circle with Your pure light and flame.
The Circle is open – Your power please lend.
Your presence is welcomed – I bid you, some in!”**

Now to the West.  Ring the bell 3 times and light the candle.
**“Come now, O waters of the Western port!*
Tides rise and fall, and all harm abort.
Wash away troubles and rinse away pain
Wash over my spirit with Your oceans and rain.
The Circle is open – Your power please lend.
Your presence is welcomed – I bid you, come in!”**

Go to the North.  Ring the bell 3 times and light the candle.
**“Come, Earthly power, to me from the North!
Lend me strength and stability – give me support.
As Your soil is fertile, this Circle shall be.
Nourish all works, as You nourish the tree
The Circle is open – Your power please lend.
Your presence is welcomed – I bid you come in!”**

Move back to the altar.  Light the silver candle.  Curtsy and say:
**“O Goddess of both Moon and Star*
Who rules all planets near and far
Who rules the Earth and all within
Who sets the time my lives begins
Who brings me happiness and mirth
Who gives me value and self-worth
With every loving touch She gives
Unto this plane on which I live
Please descend now from above
And touch this Circle with Your love
And join me in this sacred rite
O Goddess, bring Your love and light”**

Light the gold candle.  Bow and say:
**“O Lord of Places Wild and Free*
Who sows the seed that I might be
Who fertilizes all on Earth
And brings me pleasure, joy and mirth
Who is the Sun that shines above
Who warms me with His lifht and love
Who brings good health, prosperity,
And changes all as it should be
Please descend now from above
And touch this Circle with Your love
And join me in this sacred rite
O Lord, please lend Your love and light”**

Ring the bell 3 times.
“With All present, this Circle is bound
With love and power all around,
Between the Veil of the Worlds I stand,
With strongest protection at my hand.”

Pause.

Insert Sabbat and/or Spellworking here.

Raise the chalice and the plate.
“Mother and Father, I bequeath
That You bless this simple feast
That it may sustain my body and soul,
To make me sound, to make me whole.”
Partake of the simple feast.
Sing and dance if you wish.
Now is the time for a quick social time.

When all is completed, go to the North.  Extinguish the candle.
**“O Northern forests and mountains and plains*
Who protected the Circle and witnessed all gains
Of magick performed and all blessings poured out
I thank You for coming and gathering about
But now comes the time for this Circle to end
And with love and fond wishes it is that we send
You back to the dark, fertile realm where You reign
Farewell and goodbye ‘til I see You again.”**

Move to the West.  Extinguish the candle.
**“O oceans and rainstorms and streams of the West*
Who protected this Circle and witnessed all quests
Of magick performed and all blessings poured out
I thank You for coming and gathering about
But now comes the time for this Circle to end
And with love and fond wishes it is that I send
You back to the watery realm where You reign
Farewell and goodbye ‘til I see You again.”**

Go to the South.  Extinguish the candle.
**“O Southern Fires and bright, dancing flames*
Who protected this Circle and witnessed all claims
Of magick performed and all blessings poured out
I thank you for coming and gathering about
But now comes the time for this Circle to end
And with love and fond wishes it is that I send
You back to the warmth of the realm where You reign
Farewell and goodbye, ‘til I see You again.”**

Move to the East.  Extinguish the candle.
**“O twirling breezes and winds of the East*
Who protected this Circle and witnessed all feats
Of magick performed and all blessings poured out
I thank You for coming and gathering about
But now comes the time for this Circle to end
And with love and fond wishes it is that I send
You back to the blustery realm where You reign
Farewell and goodbye ‘til I see You again.”**

Move back to the altar.
“And to the Lady and the Lord – I bid you adieu.
With fondness and love for the Both of You.
Thank You for your presence here,
And for Your blessings, which I hold dear.”

Extinguish the gold and silver candles.

Pause.

“To all visible and invisible – go in peace.
May harmony between us be.
Stay if you will, go if you must,
In perfect love and perfect trust.”

Cut the Circle widdershins.  Move back to the altar.
Sing:
“May the Circle be open, but unbroken
May the love of the Goddess be ever in my heart.
Merry Meet and Merry Part
And Merry Meet again.
Blessed Be.
Blessed Be.
Blessed Be.”

Clear the altar.  Let candles burn down and censer cool off.

This is how I start every ritual that I’m casting a formal circle for.  There are places for insertion for the Sabbats, Esbats, and Spells.

**Quarter calls and dismissals and God and Goddess calls are taken from Dorothy Morrison’s book, “The Craft”.**

